NSE Holidays List For 2016 (BSE Holidays List / NSE Holidays List)


Indian share markets remain open for equity trading on all weekdays except Saturdays, Sundays and declared market holidays.

NSE Holidays List, BSE Holiday List

NSE / BSE Opening Time: 09:15 AM IST
NSE / BSE Closing Time: 3:30 PM IST

Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) and National Stock Exchange (NSE) of India remain close for trading on following days. Check if BSE / NSE is open today.

• If BSE or NSE closed today?
• What are Stock Market’s holiday hours?
• BSE holidays 2016
• NSE list of trading holidays 2016
• Indian share market timings and holidays
• Stock Market in India open today?

  • Trading Holidays
  • Clearing Holidays
Sr. No. Date Day Description
1 26-Jan-2016 Tuesday Republic Day
2 19-Feb-2016 Friday Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti
3 07-Mar-2016 Monday Mahashivratri
4 24-Mar-2016 Thursday Holi
5 25-Mar-2016 Friday Good Friday
6 01-Apr-2016 Friday Annual Bank Closing
7 08-Apr-2016 Friday Gudi Padwa
8 14-Apr-2016 Thursday Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti
9 15-Apr-2016 Friday Ram Navami
10 19-Apr-2016 Tuesday Mahavir Jayanti
11 06-Jul-2016 Wednesday Id-uI-Fitar (Ramzan ID)
12 15-Aug-2016 Monday Independence Day
13 17-Aug-2016 Wednesday Parsi New Year
14 05-Sep-2016 Monday Ganesh Chaturthi
15 13-Sep-2016 Tuesday Bakri ID
16 11-Oct-2016 Tuesday Dasera
17 12-Oct-2016 Wednesday Moharram
18 31-Oct-2016 Monday Diwali-Balipratipada
19 14-Nov-2016 Monday Gurunanak Jayanti
20 12-Dec-2016 Monday Id-e-Milad

Market Timings

Trading on the Interest Rate Futures segment takes place on all days of the week (except Saturdays and Sundays and holidays declared by the Exchange in advance).

Normal Market Open : 09:00 hrs
Normal Market Close : 17.00 hrs

The trading hours will be aligned with that of underlying market in case of change of trading hours of underlying NDS-OM platform.


Traders, Find following the NSE holiday LIST  for 2016  MSEI (formally known as MCX SX) for Equity, F&O, and Currency segments. Calendar for Commodities will be updated as soon as it is released by MCX. January 1, 2016 is not a holiday on any of the Exchanges.


  • Public Holidays and Festivals falling on Saturday / Sundays:
    • Maharashtra Day: Sunday, May 01, 2016
    • Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti: Sunday, October 02, 2016
    • Diwali-Laxmi Pujan*: Sunday, October 30, 2016
    • Christmas: Sunday, December 25, 2016

    Dewali Muhurat Trading 2016 (Diwali Amavasya – Laxmi Puja):

    Sunday, October 30, 2016

    Diwali Muhurat Trading / Deepavali 2016 Muhurat Trading will be held on Sunday, October 30, 2016 from 6:30 PM To 7.30 PM (Diwali Amavasya – Laxmi Puja).

    Timing of Diwali Muhurat Trading Session for Equity Segment, Equity Derivatives Trading and Currency Derivatives Trading at BSE and NSE: Sunday, October 30, 2016 6:30 PM to 7:30 PM

    Note that being a special trading session; all trades executed in this Diwali Muhurat trading session shall result in settlement obligations.

Click here for NSE Web Site